New Landing How can we help? Themeforest Theme Support Uplift Portfolio Category issue

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Posted in: Uplift
  • #277938
    Taffy
    Member
    Post count: 261

    We have an issue where we have to have multiple Portfolio Categories with the same name, i.e. Advertising, but if they have the same name they cancel each other out and will not show in a Filtered Portfolio.

    We tried giving them different slug names, but the issue remains.

    Our work-around is to change the name of one slightly by adding an *. This is only temporary and we need a fix.

    The best example are the two Advertising categories used on

    http://flintsydney.com/andreas-smetana/andreas-smetana-photography/

    and

    http://flintsydney.com/toby-dixon/toby-dixon-photography/

    You can see that we have managed to get the Advertising Category displaying on this page by changing the Category name to Advertising*

    We need to have the Slug name be the identifier for the Portfolio Filter.

    Can you please help us ASAP.

    Thanks,

    Mark

    #278507
    David Martin – Support
    Moderator
    Post count: 20834

    Hi Mark,

    You can override the front-end portfolio filter output within: /uplift/swift-framework/content/sf-portfolio.php. Take a look at the function sf_portfolio_filter(). This can be easily added to your child theme to override it safely.

    Thanks.

    #278532
    Taffy
    Member
    Post count: 261
    This reply has been marked as private.
    #278843
    Taffy
    Member
    Post count: 261

    Can you please explain

    Take a look at the function sf_portfolio_filter()

    We need guidance on what to change.

    Thanks.

    #278896
    David Martin – Support
    Moderator
    Post count: 20834

    Hi Mark,

    The function sf_portfolio_filter() outputs the filter bar containing the terms above the portfolio items. Here you can change the name or the slug output in the filter. The exatct line that outputs the filter links is this:

    				if ($term) {
    					$term_slug = strtolower( $term->slug );
    					$filter_output .= '<li><a href="#" title="View all ' . $term->name . ' items" class="' . $term_slug . '" data-filter=".' . $term_slug . '">';
    					if ($term_icon != "") {
    						$filter_output .= '<i class="'.$term_icon.'"></i>';
    					}
    					$filter_output .= '<span class="item-name">' . $term->name . '</span></a></li>'. "\n";
    				} else {
    					$tax_slug = strtolower( $tax_term );
    					$tax_slug = str_replace(' ', '-', $tax_slug);
    					$filter_output .= '<li><a href="#" title="View all ' . $tax_term . ' items" class="' . $tax_slug . '" data-filter=".' . $tax_slug . '"><span class="item-name">' . $tax_term . '</span></a></li>'. "\n";
    				}

    The exact change you want is a customisation that is beyond our scope of support as it is more work than a small customisation, so you would need to work with a developer for this implementation or re-consider improving your category/tag setup for portfolio items.

    Thanks,
    David.

    #279120
    Taffy
    Member
    Post count: 261
    This reply has been marked as private.
    #279642
    David Martin – Support
    Moderator
    Post count: 20834

    Hi Mark,

    Is the goal just on a filterable page?

    From your initial request if I understand it right you want multiple portfolio categories with the same name but a different slug to be able to be filtered uniquely?

    Thanks.

    #279845
    Taffy
    Member
    Post count: 261

    Hi David,

    Yes you are correct.

    Need multiple categories with same name but use the slug to filter.

    At the moment we have to use a “.” at the end of the category name to make it happen. Looks messy and unprofessional.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Mark

    #280532
    David Martin – Support
    Moderator
    Post count: 20834

    Thanks, I am looking into this currently.

    #280533
    David Martin – Support
    Moderator
    Post count: 20834

    If you can add your FTP details for me I’d like to test out what I believe to be working for me.

    1) Please install and activate your child theme.
    2) Please provide the portfolio URL for me
    3) Ensure your portfolio items and published as you require them to be (aka currently broke). The can be output on a reduced test case page, limiting the item output to only two categories as an example.

    Thanks.

    #280585
    Taffy
    Member
    Post count: 261
    This reply has been marked as private.
    #280636
    David Martin – Support
    Moderator
    Post count: 20834

    Thanks, can you test this out now: http://flintsydney.com/toby-dixon/photography/

    – David.

    #280646
    Taffy
    Member
    Post count: 261

    Perfect!

    Fantastic.

    You guys are brilliant.

    What did you do? Will any future updates retain this fix?

    #280658
    David Martin – Support
    Moderator
    Post count: 20834

    No problem. The function sf_portfolio_filter is in the child theme functions.php so it will be retained through all updates.

    If you have found us helpful to your business, we do appreciate it if you provide a good rating/feedback on our TF item.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)

You must be logged in and have valid license to reply to this topic.

License required for the following item
Login and Registration Log in · Register