New Landing How can we help? Themeforest Theme Support Dante QA on new releases insufficient

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Posted in: Dante
    ielbury

I love this theme and the support you guys give us!!!! But … frankly, the QA done on the last couple of releases suck! I am finding that every time I do an update, things are breaking and I am spending WAY too much time troubleshooting functional and styling issues.

It seems like the the problems are a combination of issues with dependent Plugins and/or addition of features. I am a newbie WordPress guy so this may be the way it is, and if it is … well … enough said.

The plugin issue is problematic and will always be problematic IMO. The Twitter oAuth plugin for example has broken twice on me since I have been using the Dante theme. Maybe you need to fork it and maintain it in your own code base?

I could live with a continuous release cycle if the site was not continually being broken. In order to make these upgrades a little smoother, maybe a versioning strategy could be employed where there are Beta/Stable releases. Beta releases where new features are tested and Stable releases are longer living with only bug fixes + tested new features??? It would also be nice to know what versions of dependent plugins have been tested with a given version of the theme.

The problem I am having is I have developed site functionality that does not require the new features and I just want to move forward with what I have. Security is paramount for me and from my limited understanding, one of the basic tenants of WordPress security is to stay updated. Unfortunately, in order to maintain security, I keep breaking the site.

I am not happy with the reliability of my site right now!!!

Thanks, Ian

Mohammad – SUPPORT

Hi,
    Mr Ed Cousins from the support team will assist you very soon .

Swift Ideas – Ed
    Keymaster

Hi Ian,